Don’t Do It Alone

The other day one of my co-workers asked about my plans for the weekend. I said I was meeting with my craft -pause- consortium.  This made him laugh.  I honestly didn’t know what to call us. We are a group of women who have met at craft shows over the years and we are wanting to branch out. Those of us on Etsy have information to share. Those of us who do craft shows have information to share. Why not get together and share our info over delicious food and drinks? Does that make us a consortium? A gang? A lark? An exultation? Maybe an exclamation is more like it.

Anyway, we have been meeting for 3 or 4 months now and it’s been really beneficial. I am gearing up to do more craft shows so it is great to get display ideas and show information. I’ve learned so much – I’m in awe of how organized everyone is in doing craft shows. I always seem to be throwing everything together at the last minute.

One of the great things about our group is that we can share our info. I mean, I’m pretty savvy about Etsy (as savvy as a person can be with approximately 5 sales per year) but it is easy to overlook stuff. Or how mind-boggling can it be to read every last little thing that’s written in the webosphere about selling and marketing? This is the benefit of have other eyes out there.  It’s also good to get feedback on your stuff – your products, displays, photos, descriptions. Things that can escape your notice are sometimes immediately apparent to others.

It doesn’t hurt that there is sometimes wine. Or, even better, champagne.

So find some friends and get-together. Who knows what can come of it. Maybe you will decide to do a trunk show at a local store, or a fundraiser. Maybe you will find a partner for craft shows.  Try to keep it simple – maybe one or two agenda items each meeting so everyone doesn’t get bogged down by all the information. Have fun with it, and let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

