Why Didn’t I think of That?!

Cassie Stephens' DIY Planters

Doncha hate when you’re cruising along admiring the sites on the Internet when you find that one thing, one idea that is soooo simple you want to slap yourself in the forehead and say, “Duh! Why didn’t I think of that?!”

Cassie Stephens’ blog has super fun ideas on DIY and fashion and art with kids (she’s an art teacher). I just got my mom a Meyer Lemon tree for Mother’s Day because, apparently, not living in a desert means you have to buy (what?) citrus at the (get this) grocery store. You can’t just pop out the back door in your jam-jams and pluck oranges and lemons right off your own tree – or your neighbor’s tree if there’s overhang. Even my condo complex has lemon trees that produce most of the year. Buying lemons – really? What’s this world coming to? Anyway – where the heck was I driving this train? Oh yeah, planters. This lemon tree will probably go through 2-3 planters in the next couple of years (if it lives that long). I’d like to start it off in something more economical than the $60 planter I found at the garden store.

Here’s an idea that saves you money, upcycles something that was headed for the landfill and looks like something original that 900 other people don’t already own. No cat? Try a pickle tub or an old plastic trashcan. Just paint it up and go!

Cassie Stephens: DIY: Kitty Litter Containers to Pattern-y Planters!.

If you don’t need a planter, I bet you do need a doughnut hat. Am I right?

Leave a Reply

