Book Club for Non-Readers

I’m a reader. I love reading. I always have. Somewhere my mom has my first library card that was the inspiration for learning to write my name (it was a condition of the library – you had to be able to sign your name).

When I was in 7th grade I decided to start at the A’s in fiction and read my way through the library. I think I got to about the fifth book before we moved to San Diego.

I always love to recommend books to people and encourage them to read. There are just so many experiences and stories out there, I can’t imagine anyone willingly leaving them behind.

A few years ago I overheard a co-worker comment they didn’t read at all. They hadn’t read a book since college and wouldn’t even know how to go about finding a book. He had started with Oprah’s Book Club but thought whatever book he started with he didn’t like (I don’t blame him. Oprah picks some pretty depressing books!)

This gave me the idea for a book club online here for people who would like to read more. I’ve been working on a reading list…it was really hard to keep the list down to 11 so I decided to give a choice between two titles – one I’ve read and one I haven’t, so I get to play too! I’ve tried to keep the choices for any age or gender. I aimed for a culturally diverse list because I believe the reason more people don’t read because they don’t find themselves in books. I’ve kept the reading level pretty basic and have tried to find stories that look interesting. Reading is subjective so not everyone will like the books each month but I think it’s important to be able to communicate why you didn’t like something, be it art, a movie or a book.

The official announcement will be up January 1, but here’s a sneak peep at some of the titles I’m still considering:

  • 100 Days of Solitude
  • Ready Player One
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Pointe
  • Midnight Riot
  • The Red Tent
  • Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
  • The Giver
  • A Wrinkle in Time
  • Rising Strong
  • The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian

Oh! It’s so difficult to pare the list down. It’s the Sophie’s Choice of books! Each time I cross one off the list, two more pop up in my head! Anyone up for reading 14 books per month?

Screen Shot 2015-12-26 at 9.20.33 PM

Sigh. I didn’t think so.

Leave a Reply

